Random Musings

What Do I Want to be When I Grow Up??

I can hardly believe its 2017. How weird does that sound?! I kept repeating it to myself and all I could think about was how fast time is flying by. It actually made me kinda sad. Especially when I think about how I’m STILL not where I want to be in life.

My BFF came into town this past weekend to spend New Year’s Eve with me. As always, whenever we get together, we talked until we couldn’t talk anymore. I mean literally, we talked so long and so late into the night that my eyes were closing without my conscious control and I swear at one point, I think I might have drooled in mid-conversation. But when your BFF comes into town, this is just what you do. I didn’t realize how much I missed her until she was here. Now, I feel like this moment should have a soundtrack. Cue the sappy violin music. Doo be doo be doooooooo.

Ok, who started cutting onions in here?!? Sniff sniff

So I seriously digressed just then. Back to my story now. lol.

One of the big things that my BFF and I discussed was how neither one of us felt particularly satisfied with where we are professionally. Both of us are fairly well-educated with some alphabet soup behind our names, but there is still a part of us that feels unfulfilled. How does that happen? How do you get as far along as we have and still not feel like you are where you want to be?

I found myself wondering what I wanted to be when I grew up. Which is actually funny since Uncle Sam definitely considers me an adult as proved by all the damn taxes I’ve had to pay all these damn years. Sigh.

So this question remains…how do I get to be where I want to be when I’m not even really sure where that is?

Leave a Reply

