Random Musings · Weight loss journey

WLJ and other stuff

So clearly, I can’t be trusted to post my daily eating habits for my weight loss journey series.  I thought about it everyday but something always happened to keep me from posting. So instead of a daily play-by-play, I’ll shoot for a weekly synopsis.

I’m actually pretty proud of myself.  Aside from a couple of cups of coffee with milk and sugar in it, (I can’t be friends with people who can drink their coffee black. How in the world do they do that?? Yuck.) I haven’t had anything sweet since I started posting about my weight loss journey. Sweets are my achilles heel.  It’s so hard for me to break the sugar cravings but if I can do that, I have a chance at actually making a true go of losing weight.

Yesterday, I stopped for lunch at this place that sells salads, wraps, sandwiches, and pastas. I ended up getting a chicken pesto wrap. It came with a side and my choices were pasta salad, potato salad, coleslaw, or a cookie.  Now since I was already getting a wrap and chose to eat the bread, I didn’t want to eat more carbs so the pasta and potato salad were out.  I don’t trust everybody’s coleslaw so that was out. That left the cookie. I had a choice of chocolate chip or oatmeal raisin. The worker had just taken them out of the oven and so they were warm and soft and smelled like angels had sprayed little droplets of heaven in the air. My resolve to avoid sweets was crumbling faster than I could say my name. But I dug deep. I dug deep down into the crevices of my soul and said, “No, that’s ok. I don’t need a side.” One of the hardest things I’ve done in a long time folks. Phew.

Then today, I made a paleo salad. It was a recipe I got off of Facebook. Lettuce, cherry tomatoes, grilled chicken, butternut squash, and avocado topped with a homemade tahini dressing. It was sooooo good and so filling. I will definitely be making that one again. Hubby has a low-key aversion to all things healthy so he barely gave it a sniff before walking away. That’s ok. More for me! 🙂

Ok, so to change the subject a little bit, I’ve decided to pursue writing a little bit. One of the main reasons I started this blog was to keep my brain active. Having a baby gave me a serious case of mommy brain. My brain feels like mush 80% of the time and having multiple degrees does not matter when singing the ABC’s and 1-2-3’s. All day. Everyday. So I’m going to enter some amateur writing contests. So if I get ghost for a little while here and there, I’m probably facing a deadline. It’s harder than I thought to plan a story, developing a plot, backstory, characters, etc from scratch. But I am definitely enjoying the process. I’ll keep you guys updated 🙂

Have y’all followed me on Twitter yet?? I’m trying to get the hang of it. I sent a tweet to Sergeant Wu from the tv show Grimm on NBC and he actually liked my tweet!! I was on cloud nine for an entire hour after that 🙂

Leave a Reply

