Random Musings

Tee Hee Hee

Laughter. What a beautiful thing. What a beautiful, cathartic, glorious thing. And as adults, we don’t do it nearly as much as we should.

Today, I was talking with my BFF on the phone. She is at the point in her pregnancy where it’s all she can do to have a conversation without getting winded. I remember those days very well. Needless to say, when you are having a hard time breathing, other things take a backseat. She started telling me a story about one of her cousins. This cousin was having boyfriend troubles and wanted to tell my BFF all about it.  My BFF said, “I love my cousin. I do. But I just don’t care about anything she has to say right now. I’m pregnant!” Let me tell you. That one statement cracked me the hell up. I’m talking about tears running down my face, belly-aching, cackling out loud kind of laughing.  I completely empathize with her because when you are gestating a human and your body just feels like a host to a parasite, you truly couldn’t care less about anything but converting oxygen to carbon dioxide.  That’s all you have energy for. So I completely got what she was saying. When I thought about it hours later, it still cracked me up.

My point is, I can’t remember the last time I laughed that hard. I’m not saying that my life is so ho-hum and dull that there’s no humor. I laugh daily at something my child has done or when hubby decides to tell one of his corny jokes. But that laugh that makes it hard to breathe? No. Definitely doesn’t happen all the time.

Why is that? Is it because as adults, we let other things get in the way? Are things just not as funny when we get older? Whatever the reason, we’ve got to do better. Make it your mission to have one belly laugh a day. Let’s start now.

Hardy har har! 🙂

Leave a Reply

